Temple dedicated to eternal love for the husband
After her husband, Hideyoshi Toyotomi, passed away, Nene, also known as Kitano Mandokoro, established this temple in 1606 to commemorate Hideyoshi’s spirit. Later, the head priest of Kennin-ji Temple was welcomed to become the head priest in 1624. This Zen temple worships the statue of Shaka Nyorai as the main deity. There is a tea ceremony room in the precinct that is said to have been moved from Fushimi Castle. Nene succeeded to establish this grand temple with considerable financial support from Ieyasu Tokugawa, the first Tokugawa shogun. Thanks to the support, the temple was able to add gorgeous decorations throughout. One of the highlights of this temple is its “Dragon Corridor” which is designated as the Important Cultural Property from the Momoyama period (16th century). Long stairs are set on the slope of the mountain and roof tiles above the stairs look like the back of a dragon. The corridor connects Kaizan-do Hall where the spirit of the first head priest is enshrined and Tamaya Hall where the spirits of Hideyoshi and Nene are placed. Inside Tamaya Hall is decorated with fascinating mother-of-pearl inlay, known as Kodaiji Makie.
Translation to English by AD BRAIN INC.
|Address||526 Kodaiji Shimogawara-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto|
|Hours||9:00-17:30 *Enter by 30 min. before the closing time.|
|Recommended||Entry: 600 yen (including the Sho Museum); Combination ticket for 3 places (Kodai-ji Temple, Sho Museum and Entoku-in Temple): 900 yen|
Nouveau style Italian cuisine served in a Guest House
Aoi Yasaka Kodai-ji
A gracious machiya-style house for your base in Kyoto
Male Blanche Cacao 365 Gion Shop
365 days a year, a special chocolate for every day
Shrines & Temples
Delivering the doctrines of Honen Shonin to the present day